About the Louisiana Municipal Association


Who are we?
A unified voice for Louisiana’s municipal governments, the Louisiana Municipal Association’s (LMA) mission is to advocate, educate, and empower local governments to efficiently and effectively serve the citizens of Louisiana.

LMA Membership
Every incorporated municipality benefits from the representation of the Association. Today, there are 305 LMA members consisting of 127 villages, 111 towns, 65 cities, and 2 parishes.  Each local government belongs to one of the 10 LMA Districts (A-J). Classifications of municipalities are set forth by La. R.S.: 33:341.  Each municipality is categorized into population tiers as a village, town, or city.

Power of Membership
Since its inception in 1926, the Association continues to promote local governments by shaping legislation, providing education on municipal issues, and exchanging ideas and experiences among elected official leaders throughout the state. The voice of municipal government cannot be overlooked at the State Capitol. The Association’s success is contingent upon the support and engagement of the LMA membership.